15 magistrates sworn in

Zvikomborero Parafini 

CHIEF Magistrate Faith Mushure last Friday presided over the swearing in of 15 new magistrates.

The new magistrates comprise six men and nine women, bringing the number of magistrates in Zimbabwe to 229.

Of the 229, 87 are male and 142 are female.

Speaking on the sidelines of the ceremony, Chief Magistrate Mushure said the magistrates were drawn from a cross section of professions meant to strengthen the magisterial bench.

“Five of them were coming from private legal practice, eight were drawn from the JSC and were either court interpreters, judges’ assistants, or researchers.

“One is coming from the Ministry of Primary and Secondary Education and one is coming from the Zimbabwe Republic Police.

“We have already deployed them to beef up staff at various stations across the country such as our stations in Bikita, Mberengwa, Chipinge, Kezi, Nyanga and Chinhoyi.”

She further said they were ready to deal with election related cases.

“With regards to preparations for election related matters, the Chief Justice in terms of the Electoral Act designated 75 provincial magistrates to deal with cases of political violence and intimidation.

“These magistrates are based at all 58 operational courts throughout Zimbabwe and every district in the country has a magistrate dealing with politically motivated violence and intimidation cases.

“These magistrates are of wide experience and are prepared to deal with those cases,” she said.

The new magistrates are Isaac Chikura, Makaita Catherine Dzivanyika, Faith Hannah Fazilahmed, Molly Gwatidzo, Ivy Jawona, Titus Makunike, Singaniso Manyande, Tatenda Mukurunge, Tinofirei Muronzi, Shumirai Mutimodlo, Precious Nyambiya, Kudakwashe Sangarwe, Anesu Tanyanyiwa, Edward Verenga and Batiraishe Zishiri.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *