Copa trophy tour end

04 Jul, 2018 - 15:07 0 Views
Copa trophy tour end


4 July 2018

ORGANISERS of the COPA Coca-Cola soccer tournament say they used the trophy tour to encourage young players to remain resolute on their studies.

The tour, which came to end yesterday at Churchill High School, is part of the tournament’s 30th anniversary celebrations.

The school, along with Mzilikazi in Bulawayo and Hippo Valley in Chiredzi, has won the competition a record four times.

Speaking at the event, Coca Cola senior brand manager, Vee Chibanda, said they were proud to complement the sport.

“We believe that a student is not whole when they play sport and not have the education that is required.

“We want to encourage all children who do sports to focus on their studies so that they can be a complete sports persons who are well educated,” she said.

“The book donation is a complement to the sport and an honour to the whole school,” she said.

She said Coca-cola will continue being driven by passion for the sport.

“For us it’s the passion to continue giving back to the community, a passion to develop Zimbabwe to have an actively healthy living lifestyle.

“We also want to thank NASH who have been a good partner for the past 30 years, they run their sports professionally.”

Churchill acting head Doreen Shoko welcomed the donation by Coca-cola.

“We are grateful to receive such an honour from our football sponsors Coca-cola who have given us the books.

“Sports go hand in hand with education,” she said.

Churchill managed to win the tournament in 1992, 1994, 2000 and in 2008.

The school produced stars including Norman Maroto, Tinashe Nengomasha, George Mbwando and Elasto Kapowezha among others.

However, the school failed to book a place at this year’s Copa Coca-Cola finals after they were dismissed 4-0 by rivals Prince Edward at the provincial finals.

The finals have been slated for next Friday in Zvishavane.
COPA Coca-cola U-15 National Finals

Boys Fixtures
Group A
Mandava, Prince Edward, Manicaland (TBA)
Group B
Mpopoma, Guinea Fowl, Somvubu
Group C
Kanyemba, Mtshabezi, Waddilove
Group D
Pamushana, Rusununguko, Pfupajena
Girls Fixtures
Group A
Manicaland (TBA), Thekwane, Zvishavane (hosts)
Group B
Chenhuta, Simbo, Chamakwanda
Group C
Chidyamakono, Gweshe, Mwami
Group D
Vainona, Birivenga, Mpopoma

Share This:

Sponsored Links