Finalists dominate World Cup team

Players from five teams have been named in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Team of the Tournament.

Stars from champions Australia, runners-up India, semi-finalists South Africa and New Zealand, as well as Sri Lanka all feature in a glittering line up. 

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell and spinner Adam Zampa are included after helping Australia to a record-extending sixth triumph. 

KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah are among the six Indian stars selected alongside leading run scorers Kohli and Sharma, as well as leading wicket-taker Mohammed Shami. 

The selection panel consisted of Ian Bishop, Kass Naidoo, Shane Watson (Commentators), Wasim Khan (ICC General Manager, Cricket) and Sunil Vaidya (Journalist, Ahmedabad Mirror).

The team of the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 (in batting order) is: 

    Quinton de Kock (wk) (South Africa) 594 runs at 59.40 

    Rohit Sharma (c) (India) 597 runs at 54.27 

    Virat Kohli (India) 765 runs at 95.62 

    Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand) 552 runs at 69 

    KL Rahul (India) 452 runs at 75.33

    Glenn Maxwell (Australia) 400 runs at 66.66 and six wickets at 55

    Ravindra Jadeja (India) 120 runs at 40 and 16 wickets at 24.87 

    Jasprit Bumrah (India) 20 wickets at 18.65

    Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka) 21 wickets at 25 

    Adam Zampa (Australia) 23 wickets at 22.39 

    Mohammed Shami (India) 24 wickets at 10.70

12th player: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) – 20 wickets at 19.80 – ICC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *