IT’S REALLY A PITY, WE DON’T HAVE A COACH…He could have been studying Bafana

IF the Warriors had a coach, he would have been busy looking at the 23-man squad, which Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos, announced yesterday.

The South Africans will face Namibia and DRC in friendly matches at home next month.

The two matches will be played at Orlando Stadium, in Soweto.

Broos’ troops will welcome Namibia on Saturday, September 9, and then take on the DRC three days later.

The two friendly international matches are

part of the preparations for the 2026 World Cup qualifiers, set for November, and the 2023 AFCON finals, due to be held in Cote d’Ivoire, in January next year.

South Africa, Nigeria, Benin, Rwanda and Lesotho will battle against Zimbabwe in Group C of the 2026 World Cup qualifiers.

The Warriors coach, had he been appointed, would have been monitoring the performances of all these teams in Group C, as part of his team’s preparations, for the World Cup qualifiers.

Unfortunately, the normalisation committee in charge of ZIFA are yet to appoint the Warriors coach and have been criticised of concentrating on trying to get rid of the secretariat at the association.

The 13 players who have been left out of Broos’ final squad are Sipho Chaine [Orlando Pirates], Thabiso Monyane [Orlando Pirates], Given Msimango [Kaizer Chiefs], Keegan Allan [Moroka Swallows].

Ime Okon [SuperSport United], Sfiso Hlanti [Kaizer Chiefs], Zuko Mdunyelwa [Chippa United], Sphephelo Sithole [Tondela], Mlungisi Mbanjana [TS Galaxy]. Khanyiso Mayo [Cape Town City], Iqraam Rayners [Stellenbosch], Pule Mmodi [Kaizer Chiefs], Bongokuhle Hlongwane [Minnesota].

Mamelodi Sundowns and Orlando Pirates are the most represented clubs.



Ronwen Williams [Mamelodi Sundowns], Veli Mothwa [AmaZulu], Ricardo Goss [SuperSport United]


Nyiko Mobbie [Sekhukhune United], Grant Kekana [Mamelodi Sundowns], Nkosinathi Sibisi [Orlando Pirates], Aubrey Modiba [Mamelodi Sundowns], Mothobi Mvala [Mamelodi Sundowns], Siyanda Xulu [SuperSport United], Innocent Maela [Orlando Pirates]


Luke Le Roux [FC Volendam], Njabulo Blom [Saint Louis], Teboho Mokoena [Mamelodi Sundowns], Grant Margeman [SuperSport United], Bathusi Aubaas [Mamelodi Sundowns]


Mihlali Mayambela [Aris Limassol], Themba Zwane [Mamelodi Sundowns], Kobamelo Kodisang [Moreirense], Percy Tau [Al Ahly], Zakhele Lepasa [Orlando Pirates], Lyle Foster [Burnley], Lebo Mothiba [Strasbourg], Monnapule Saleng [Orlando Pirates]. – H-Metro/FARPost


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *