Zimpapers Sport

THE Lady Chevrons will battle it out with Ireland, Netherlands, UAE and Vanuatu for a place at this year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

Zimbabwe were included in Group B of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2024, which get underway in Abu Dhabi next month.

Ten teams will compete for two spots in the main event, which will be held in Bangladesh, later this year.

The tournament runs from April 25 to May 7 with the 10 teams divided into two groups of five.

Group A consists of Sri Lanka, Thailand, Scotland, Uganda and the USA.

The top six teams from the T20 World Cup in 2023 in South Africa —Australia, South Africa, England, India, New Zealand, and the West Indies — earned direct qualification for the 20-over showcase.

Bangladesh qualified as hosts and Pakistan by virtue of their position in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s T20I Team Rankings.

A total of 20 matches will be played during the group stage after which the top two teams from each Group will play the semi-finals.

Both finalists will qualify for the main event.

Each venue has a day game and a night match during the Group stage, where 20 contests will be completed in five days.

The Lady Chevrons will open the qualifiers with the easiest game, against Vanuatu on April 25 and then the UAE two days later.

A date against Ireland, who dominated previous clashes, on April 29 will be followed by the match against the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *