Miss Tourism boot camp

18 Nov, 2016 - 16:11 0 Views
Miss Tourism boot camp


18 November 2016


…tight security for the girls


Of the 18 Miss Tourism Zimbabwe finalists who are in boot camp, three will be eliminated on Sunday, organisers have said.

Speaking at the sashing ceremony of the finalists at Rainbow Towers yesterday, Miss Tourism Zimbabwe Trust chairperson Barbara Mzembi said “only 15 will go to the finals on the 25th of November because three will be eliminated on Sunday, we will make the announcement during breakfast.

“This is a competition where you have to fight with your hands but with your brains, like how you will conduct yourself.

“But by making it to the boot camp you are all winners,” said Mrs Mzembi.


Barbra Mzembi (R) during sashing

She added that the girls will go through various challenges including written exercises as they all try to avoid being part of the three who will be eliminated.

Mrs Mzembi also went on to explain that two of the 18 girls had missed the sashing ceremony because they had exam commitments.

On the issue of changing the venue of the boot camp from the initially proposed “mansion” to the Rainbow Towers, Mrs Mzembi said “it’s because of logistics, the event will be here at the HICC (Harare International Conference Centre), the stage will be here.

“For logistic purposes and not to have them on the road all the time, they are going to be here because it’s easier to go down to the Harare International Conference Centre and do the rehearsals and come back to the room.

“So if we were far away it was going to be a bit difficult, so they will be camping here and they will be under the supervision of the patron and we also have security from the ZRP,” said Mrs Mzembi.

As part of the boot camp, the girls will go through several trainings in public speaking, media management, geography, tourism, business, etiquette and image, branding and they will also be doing rehearsals.

The 18 are Ashley Morgan, Shirely Ann Lindsay, Nonhlanhla Dube, Sindiso Ndhlovu, Evermore Nyamangezi, Courtney Matende, Kudakwashe Chibaiwa, Gamuchirai Mutero, Laureen Macintosh, Audrey Mhungu, Lippy Ndagurwa, Memory Chapinduka, Mellisa Bure, Chiyedza Chinake, Anesu Hokoyo, Merrylin Ngwenya, Rutendo Taruvinga and Hazel Nhamburo.

Share This:

Sponsored Links