RANL season starts next week

Innocent Kurira

Sports Reporter 

THE 2024 Rainbow Amateur Netball League season is expected to start on February 24 and the opening matches will take place at seven venues as they continue to play in a bubble format. 

RANL is sponsored by Glow Petroleum.

In Mutare, Mweyamutswene, Tenax and Santa Queens will converge at Dangare in Mutare while ZPC Hwange, Khami and Haven Nets clash at White City Stadium. 

In Bikita, Hi-fyers will face ZRP Masvingo and Bikita Minerals.

Defending champions Glow Petroleum will face Golden Valley and RioZim at Patchway near Kadoma. 

Seke Teachers College will play host to Ruwa, Correction and Bright Emerald.

At the TelOne Courts, Yadah, Support Unit and Sweet Valley will take to the court. 

Chibwe, Belvedere and Black Mambas will clash at the Harare Municipal Courts. 

The 2023 champions Glow Petroleum were the biggest winners at this year’s awards ceremony held last month after pocketing US$6 000, medals and a floating trophy for their exploits.

Glow Petroleum retained the title for the third time running, with a dominant performance that saw them finish season unbeaten.

Correctional Queens ended last season as runners-up and bagged US$4 000, a floating trophy and medals, while second runners-up Black Mambas received US$3 000, a floating trophy and medals.

League debutants Haven Stars were voted the Most Disciplined team and received US$300.

Several individual awards were on offer with 23-year-old Panashe Taruwedzera from Sweet Valley walking away with US$350 for being the Rookie of the Year.

Christine Kadandare from Glow Petroleum bagged the Golden Hand award and received US$350 and a shield for her efforts. 

The Players’ Player of the Season award went to Babra Lodi from Glow Petroleum who received US$450 and a shield.

The duo of Chido Nenhunzi from Tenax and Panashe Taruwedzera of Sweet Valley were the joint Players of the Year and were rewarded with US$350 each. 

The season’s new award category of People’s Choice went to Mambas’ Priscilla Gatsi and she bagged US$350.

Glow Petroleum coach Pepertua Siyachitema retained the Coach of the Year award which came with US$400.

National team players (those who participated in the World Cup and Africa Netball Cup) received US$100 each. 

Teams that finished from position five to 16 got US$400 each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *