Eddie Chikamhi 

Dynamos…………… 0 

Herentals……….. (1) 1 

DYNAMOS now will have to scale Mt Everest, without oxygen, to win their first league championship in NINE years.

The Glamour Boys fired blanks, for the second game in a row, as they were beaten by a plucky Herentals at the National Sports Stadium yesterday. 

DeMbare skipper Frank Makarati turned the ball into his own goal after only eight minutes.

They remain 11 points behind leaders Ngezi Platinum Stars, albeit with a game in hand, going into the last eight games of the season. 

The Students signalled their intentions for this match just from the way their coach Kumbirai Mutiwekuziva assembled his team. 

To match pace and energy of their opponents, the Herentals coach omitted 52-year-old club owner Innocent Benza from the starting line-up in favour of the younger and more adventurous troops. 

This proved a masterstroke as he won the battle with his DeMbare counterpart Genesis Mangombe.

Benza watched from the bench as his side took control of the game early in the first half, with his son Tino Benza working hard upfront, after he was given the captain’s armband. 

Herentals neutralised the midfield where the usually dominant DeMbare trio of Donald Mudadi, Junior Makunike and Tanaka Shandirwa were not given the space to play. 

The trio looked out of sorts for the most parts of the game as Herentals had the numbers in midfield, with the former DeMbare trio of Edgar Mhungu, Godfrey Mukambi and Alu Maliselo winning most of the duels. 

The Students were solid and more organised at the back and DeMbare were kept at bay. 


Dynamos: P. Tafiremutsa, E. Jalai, E. Moyo, K. Moyo, F. Makarati, T. Shandirwa (K. Madera, 60th min), J. Makunike, D. Mudadi (E. Illunga, 82nd min) I. Sadiki (J. Bakari, 82nd min), E. Ziocha (A. Masiiwa, 60th min), N. Chintuli (E. Chikona, 71st min) 

Herentals: N. Antonio, C. Nyatondo, M. Chimedza (B. Majarira, 70th min), K. Chitavire, G. Mukambi, A. Maliselo (G. Chinobva, 70th min), Z. Ruguchu, E. Mhungu (W. Kapumha, 46th min), D. Marowa, T. Benza, B. Phiri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *