Tony Munyonga blasts century in NPL T20 Blast

A brilliant century from Tony Munyonga led Gladiators to a fine seven-wicket victory over Uprising when the two Chitungwiza-based teams clashed at Old Hararians Sports Club on Saturday.

Uprising, put in to bat, did well to score 193 for six wickets in their 20 overs, mainly due to fifties from Brian Bennett (54 off 35 balls) and Aisha Chibanda (64 not out off 37).

Owen Muzondo was the best of the Gladiators bowlers with two top-order wickets for 14 in his three overs.

A good opening spell by Victor Nyauchi removed the renowned opening pair of Ashley Mufandauya and Wessly Madhevere in his first two overs, and the score was 24 for two in the fourth over.

Clive Madande made 17, and Munyonga came in at 47 for three wickets and tore the bowlers to shreds.

Milton Shumba did little more than stand and watch, without even much running to do, in his innings of 34 not out off 35 balls as Munyonga brilliantly led the victory charge.

Nyauchi returned to bowl the 18th over with Munyonga on 76, and off five legitimate deliveries Munyonga hit him for three sixes and two fours bringing up his century and a remarkable victory for Gladiators.

His 102 not out came off only 45 balls and included seven sixes and eight fours.

At Takashinga Cricket Club, Trevor Gwandu turned in a fine all-round performance for Takashinga Patriots 2 on their home ground on Saturday as Westside lost a wonderful opportunity to record a rare victory over them.

Takashinga made a disastrous start after opting to bat first.

Cephas Zhuwao scored 15 off five balls before being caught off the sixth, and then the entire top order collapsed to the bowling of Hendricks Macheke, who took four wickets for 13 runs.

Five wickets were down for 24 runs and the Gwandu arrived at the crease with the score at 43 for seven.

Gwandu scored 30 off 24 balls before being run out, with support from Tashinga Musekiwa (19) and Cuthbert Musoko (29 not out), but the eventual score of 131 for nine was not a good enough.

Gwandu had Definate Mawadzi caught off the first ball of the innings, and the Westside batters struggled.

Bright Njanji (34) and Prosper Mugeri (19) seemed to have their innings on course again as they took the score to 73 before the fifth wicket fell.

Gwandu returned to remove Njanji and Fortune Mhlanga in three deliveries to end Westside’s challenge as they slumped to 98 all out.

Gwandu took three wickets for eight runs in three overs as the Takashinga fightback brought them a rather unlikely victory by 33 runs.

In another match, a good partnership between the Masakadza brothers, Hamilton and Wellington, steadied the Takashinga Patriots 1 innings after they lost four wickets and ensured a five-wicket victory over Mutare Sports Club in the end.


TAKASHINGA PATRIOTS 2 – 131-9 in 20 overs (Trevor Gwandu 30, Cuthbert Musoko 29*, Tashinga Musekiwa 19; Hendricks Macheke 4/13, Fortune Mhlanga 1/14, Prosper Mugeri 1/17)

WESTSIDE – 98 all out in 17.3 overs (Bright Njanji 34, Prosper Mugeri 19, Tinashe Muchawaya 14; Trevor Gwandu 3/8, Tashinga Musekiwa 2/12, Antum Naqvi 2/20)

RESULT: Takashinga Patriots 2 won by 33 runs

UPRISING – 193-6 in 20 overs (Aisha Chibanda 64*, Brian Bennett 54, Nick Welch 34; Owen Muzondo 2/14, Milton Shumba 1/22, Ashley Mufandauya 1/26)

GLADIATORS – 199-3 in 17.5 overs (Tony Munyonga 102*, Milton Shumba 34*, Clive Madande 17; Victor Nyauchi 2/47, Luke Jongwe 1/35)

RESULT: Gladiators win by seven wickets 

MUTARE SPORTS CLUB – 106 all out in 17.4 overs (Kudzai Sauramba 30, Donald Tiripano 22, Clive Chitumba 10*; Richard Ngarava 3/6, Wellington Masakadza 2/30, Carl Mumba 1/8)

TAKASHINGA PATRIOTS 1 – 107-5 in 16.4 overs (Hamilton Masakadza 33, Joylord Gumbie 31, Wellington Masakadza 19*; Donald Tiripano 2/29, Tendai Chatara 2/30, Nkosilathi Nungu 1/11)

RESULT: Takashinga Patriots 1 won by five wickets

AMAKHOSI – 137-8 in 20 overs (Nkosana Mpofu 29, Thabo Mboyi 20, Tawana Mhora 17; Victor Chirwa 3/20, Patrick Nyamapfeni 2/28, Daniel Jakiel 1/14)

RAINBOW – 125-4 in 20 overs (Johnathan Campbell 48*, Nyasha Mayavo 36, Kumbirayi Phiri 14; Ernest Masuku 2/29, Keith Ndlovu 1/29)

RESULT: Amakhosi won by 12 runs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *