Traffic police officers nabbed

13 Feb, 2019 - 17:02 0 Views


13 February 2019

SEVEN traffic police officers were on Sunday arrested for corruption by the Police General Headquarters Anti-corruption team along Matobo Road.

Arrested officers are Sergeant Gwadaura, Constables Kachiputu, Matsetlo, Mahachi, Mapaure, Sithole and Manatsa who are all stationed at ZRP Monomotapa.

Circumstances are that on February 10 at around 11.30am, six members from the police headquarters internal investigations visited a roadblock site along Matobo Road opposite Mtapa Cemetery where the accused officers were operating.

The investigating team comprising of Chief Inspector Ndlovu E, Inspector Matimbe, Assistant Inspector Kurewa, Sergeant Munyoro, Sergeant Kasange and Constable Manduwi parked their vehicle a distance away from the accused observing their operations.

After a while, the investigating team noticed CST Sithole and CST Manatsa leaving the roadblock into Mtapa Cemetery where they started counting money behind a precast security wall.

The investigating team ambushed them and the two fled from the scene leaving behind a police cap STU and $36 which was recovered by the team as exhibits.

The team went on to search other members at the road block before ordering them to remove roadblock drums.

It is alleged that CST Kachiputu was seen throwing some money into a roadblock drum and $27 bond notes was recovered.

Sgt Gwadaura is said to be charged with contravening the Police Act Chapter 11:10 emanating from the fact that he failed to supervise his subordinates.

The suspects are set to appear before a disciplinary court after seven days.

Share This:

Sponsored Links