Sports Reporter

THE draw for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations will be held in Johannesburg, South Africa on July 4.

Morocco will host the tournament while the draw will be conducted at SuperSport studios in South Africa at 2.30pm.

Zimbabwe will be making a return to the qualifiers after missing the battles for a place in Cote d’Ivoire as the country served a FIFA suspension.

The Warriors last featured at the 2021 AFCON finals in Cameroon.

There will be 48 nations in the draw, including the four winners from the preliminary round (Chad, Eswatini, Liberia and South Sudan).

They will be drawn into 12 Groups of four teams each to battle it out for the 24 places at the finals with qualifiers set to get underway in September.

Headlining the confirmed nations for the draw are reigning African champions Cote d’Ivoire joined by Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, DR Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini and Ethiopia.

Others include Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *