Why Onana was NOT sent off despite two yellow cards

Andre Onana was able to stay on the pitch despite receiving two yellow cards in Manchester United’s lucky win over Coventry in the semi-finals of the FA Cup on Sunday.

Onana had been booked with five minutes to play for timewasting, with Coventry going on to score a remarkable injury-time equaliser. That sent the game into extra-time, with neither side able to way through, though the Championship side did see a goal disallowed for offside in the very last minute.

A penalty shootout followed, with Onana booked as he argued with referee Robert Jones. Despite picking up two yellow cards, Onana was able to stay on the pitch though, with United going on to win after Ben Sheaf sent his penalty soaring over the bar.

But Jones did not make a mistake, with IFAB rule 10.3 stipulating that bookings are not carried through to penalty shootouts. The rule states: “Yellow cards and warnings from the game are not carried forward into penalties.

“A player who was shown a red card during the game cannot take part. Players, substitutes, substituted players and team officials can get a red or yellow card during penalties.”

The FA have confirmed that Onana is also not suspended for the FA Cup final, where United will face fierce rivals Manchester City. A similar situation unfolded during Aston Villa’s win over Lille in the Europa Conference League on Thursday.

Villa keeper Emi Martinez was shown a second yellow during the shootout, having been booked during normal time. But Martinez is suspended for the first leg of Villa’s semi-final, though the Argentine admitted that he did not actually know the rules.

“It has been a hell of a ride all of my career. I am a believer and a hard worker and it was my destiny today,” he said on TNT Sports.

“I always say in all my career, I owe my team-mates in those moments, even when we were watching Real Madrid last night the manager was saying we might go to penalties and in those moments I own my box.

“I get booked after 30 minutes and we’re losing the game so I don’t know what the referee wanted for me. In the shoot-out, there was no ball on the penalty spot and I was asking for a ball from the ball boy… and then I get booked. I just don’t understand the rules.” – Mirror

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *